Contemporary Composers Index
  • En  
Your interactive portal to the world of contemporary composers
  • to become a part of the creative musicians community!
  • to publish, promote and distribute your works around the globe!
  • to present yourself and your creativity to music lovers worldwide!
  • to sell your music and performing licenses directly to performers!

Jukka Linkola


Curriculum vitae: Jukka Linkola
b. July 21, 1955 in Helsinki, Finland

- Sibelius Academy: piano and composition

- free-lance composer
- conductor in the Helsinki City Theatre 1975-1990
- teacher at the Sibelius Academy and Pop-Jazz Conservatory
- performs regularly as pianist and conductor

Prizes and awards
- Georgie Award 1979
- Record of the year (Kuinka myöhään valvoo blues?) awarded by the Finnish Broadcasting Company 1980
- First prize in the competition for composition organised by Pori Jazz 1980
- Second prize in the EBU international composition competition for Pierrot 1981
- Second prize in the LUSES competition for composition 1987
- Jussi Award (Lumikuningatar) 1987
- Jussi Award (Ihmiselon ihanuus ja kurjuus) 1989
- First prize in the LUSES competition for the composition of a musical (Kairatut sydämet) 1993
- First prize in the Paris Opera Screen for the opera Angelika 1993
- First prize in the Midem Awards for the opera Angelika, Cannes 1994
- First prize in the Concours International de Composition de la Ville du Havre for Structures 1994
- IAJE prize, Boston 1994
- Emma Prize for the best jazz record of the year 1998 (EQ/Libau)
- Prizes for both works Astoria and Häkkilintu in Hopeakuu-competition
for musictheatre organized by Lahti City Theatre 2002. Astoria was selected to be produced
for the theatre 2003.
- Prize for Petronella in Hopeakuu-competition 2004
- Michigan, USA, Grand Finn Fest 2005 commission, Bass Concerto
- Michigan, Rockland-opera commission 2009

- Finnish Arts Council: 5-year grant for composition 2006-2010


Composed 2004
duration: 62 minutes
Commissioned by Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra

music for tenor saxophone and symphony orchestra
Composed: 1983
solo tenor saxophone+3333/4221/13, 2 harps, piano, celesta, strings
Duration: 33'
Commissioned by the Helsinki Festival

Concerto for Trumpet and Orchestra I
Composed: 1988
solo trumpet+2222/3221/12, 1 harp, piano, strings
Duration: 25'
Commissioned by the Scandinavian Brass Symposium

Ronia the Robber's Daughter
Composed: 1989
2222/3221/12, 1 harp, piano, strings, vocal: mezzo-soprano (opt.)
Also playable as a suite
Duration: 1 h 29 min
Commissioned by Finnish National Opera

Trumpet Concerto II
Composed: 1993
solo trumpet+strings
Duration: 20'
Commissioned by the Lieksa Brass Week

Concerto for Tuba and Orchestra
Composed: 1992
solo tuba+1111/1110/01, piano, strings
Duration: 22'
Commissioned by Nomus Foundation

Land of the Four Winds
Composed: 1990
1110/1110/11, 1 harp, piano, strings
Duration: 12'

Tango Concertante
Composed: 1990
2132/1441/12, 1 harp, piano, strings
Duration: 5'

Composed: 1992
2222/3221/12, 1 harp, piano, strings
Duration: 6'
Commissioned by the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra

The Snow Queen
Composed: 1987
1111/1110/01, 1 harp, piano, strings, vocals (opt.)
Also playable as a suite
Duration: 1 h

White Lies
suite for orchestra
Composed: 1994
1111/0100/01, piano, strings, (bandoneon, accordion opt.)
Duration: 38'

Concerto for Flute and Orchestra
Composed: 1996
Duration: 22'
Commissioned by Turku Philharmonic Orchestra

Concerto for Euphonium and Orchestra
Composed: 1996
Duration: 29'
Commissioned by Lieksa Brass Week

Concerto for Trombone and Orchestra
Composed: 1998
Duration: 24'
Commissioned by Lieksa Brass Week

Bass Concerto
Composed: 2005
1111 / 1110/ 11/ pno / strings
Duration. 38'
Commissioned by Gran Finn Fest 2005
fp. Michigan Marquette 11.8.2005
Jukka Linkola , conductor
Evan Premo , bass

Laulan, laelle lakoan
Composed: 2005
solo alto saxophone
percussion , 3 players, strings
Duration 12 '
commissioned by Avanti
fp. Helsingin Juhlaviikot
John Storgårds, Avanti, Jukka Perko

Circles For Two Pianos and Orchestra
(orchestral version1996)
Duration: 12'
Commissioned by Juvenalia Conservatory

Tango Tarantella
Composed: 1996
symphonic brass band
Duration: 9'30"


No image