Contemporary Composers Index
  • En  
Your interactive portal to the world of contemporary composers
  • to become a part of the creative musicians community!
  • to publish, promote and distribute your works around the globe!
  • to present yourself and your creativity to music lovers worldwide!
  • to sell your music and performing licenses directly to performers!

Alicia Terzian

OccupationComposer, Conductor, Musicologist, Teacher

"I am composer,conductor,musicologist and professor.I am also conductor of a GRUPO ENCUENTROS dedicated to the contemporary music and Artistic Director of the FUNDACION ENCUENTROS INTERNACONALES DE MUSICA CONTEMPORANEA."

Born in Córdoba, Argentina on July 1st 1934. Argentine composer, orchestra conductor and musicologist of Armenian desdendant. She studied at the National Conservatory of Music and Performing Arts of Buenos Aires with Alberto Ginastera, Gilardo Gilardi, Roberto García Morillo and Floro Ugarte among others. She graduated in piano (1954) and composition (1958) with the First Prize and Gold Medal (1959). In 1962 she traveled to Europe to study bout IVth and XIIth Armenian medieval religious music with Father Leoncio Dayan at the Mekhitarist Monastery of Saint Lazaro, Venice. She completed her formation by styding orchestral conducting with Mariano Drago and later on, electronic music.

Her activities as composer, conductor, musicologist and difussor of contemporary music, have contributed, since he was very young, to her acknowledge both in her own country and abroad. She has received many important prize, apart from that mentioned above, the First Prize of the Municipality of Buenos Laires City (1964), the “Francisco Solano” Award (1968), The Argentine Outstanding Young Musicians Prize (1970), National Fund for the Arts Prize (1970), First National Prize of Music (1982), Gomidas International Prize (1983), the Academic Palms Medal from the Government of France, the Saint Sahak and Saint Mesrop Medals given by Pope Vasken I of the Armenian Church (1992), the “Alberto de Castilla” Medal of Colombia (1994) and the Mozart Medal given by the International Music Council (1995).

No image